My name is Kendall Cawkins. I'm eighteen years old and I come from Janesville, Wisconsin, USA; about 1.5 hours north of Chicago. I came to Germany in August and I will live here with my best friend and her family until next July. I'm here because I wanted to take a pause from schooling to travel, meet new people, create new friendships, and experience culture.

I want to learn German as well, of course, and we didn't have a German course in my old school, so the best way to learn is to live here and immerse myself in the German daily life. Although, after living here for nearly three months and attending a German course twice a week, I realize now just how difficult it is to learn German!

My favorite hobby is traveling and I do it as often as possible. My love of traveling started when I was young, and has fueled me to pursue my dreams here in Germany and I hope I will continue to travel. With my family, I have traveled throughout the USA and also throughout many European countries. From January to July of 2015 I lived in the north of Italy as an exchange student at a school of art. Some of my other hobbies include longboarding, singing, playing ukulele, drawing, swimming, and kickboxing.
When I return home, I plan to prepare to attend the University of Business in Amsterdam to study International Business and Language.

I'm so lucky to have this opportunity to live here in beautiful Germany and to be part of the student body at GAL. I love all of my classmates. Everyone is so kind and welcoming. Many good things have happened to me since I arrived here, and I can't wait to see what wonderful things the next months here will bring for me.